JÖRGEN DAFGÅRD is a Sweden-based full time professional composer. Having just finished his diploma studies Dafgård made a striking debut in 2000 with his orchestral work Veils. As first prize winner at the Stockholm Berwald Hall and top ten contribution in the international Masterprize competition Veils has been performed a dozen times and has been heard on radio all around the world. In 2013 Jörgen Dafgård was Composer of Spring at the Berwald Hall, where many of his orchestral works were performed, including a premiere of the clarinet concerto Caprism. In 2017 the premiere of Dafgård's soprano saxophone concerto Abrasax with Anders Paulsson was a great success.



Kosmisk Moder
For Eight Part Mixed Choir and Violonello

Commissioned by Körcentrum Syd and Petri Sångare
with support from the Helge Ax:son Johnson Foundation


Mosaïque Vibrante with MSO

29 Jan 2010

Jörgen Dafgård's Mosaïque Vibrante will be performed by the Malmö Symphony Orchestra under the direction of Daniel Raiskin on Thursday, February 11, at 7:30 p.m. at the Malmö Concert Hall. This will be the premiere of a revised version of Mosaïque Vibrante. The concert starts with Tchaikovsky's symphonic ballad Vojevoden, after which the world pianist Sergio Tiempo performs with the orchestra in Rachmaninov's Rhapsody over a theme by Paganini. Dafgård's Mosaïque Vibrante is played after the break and is followed by Stravinsky's long suite compiled in 1945 from The Firebird.

Program change

29 Jan 2010

According to the season program, Jörgen Dafgård's new work for large orchestra Through Fire and Water should have been premiered on February 11 by the Malmö Symphony Orchestra. However, in order to save money, the financially troubled orchestra will instead give a concert with works for a somewhat smaller orchestra this night. In the program for February 11 MSO has replaced their commissioned work Through Fire and Water, which was completed some time ago, with Jörgen Dafgård's Mosaïque Vibrante. Through Fire and Water will be premiered by MSO on a later occasion.

Essay on Volo in Nutida Musik

06 Nov 2009

In the latest issue of the periodical Nutida Musik Jörgen Dafgård tells about how Volo came into being in his essay "Flyktförsök. Om den kreativa processen bakom Volo". Dafgård tells personally about the creative process behind Volo from idea to performance and analyses at the same time the work's formal development seen as a dynamic interplay of forces.

Volo published on Edition Suecia

09 Sep 2009

Jörgen Dafgård's Volo for string orchestra is now available in a new revised edition on Edition Suecia. The score is the first to be given the publisher's new semi-transparent cover. The both playfully and wildly rhythmical work got good reviews throughout and was very appreciated during the tour that the commissioner Musica Vitae made in connection with the first performance in Autumn 2004.

New work for orchestra completed

07 Apr 2009

A new work for large orchestra by Jörgen Dafgård titled Through Fire and Water is now completed. The work, which has a duration of thirteen minutes, was presented at the beginning of February for the commissioner Malmö Symphony Orchestra, who intends to perform it for the first time at the beginning of next year. If you want to know how it sounds, you can already listen to a computer-simulated version here to the left under the heading Listen. Through Fire and Water will be published by Gehrmans.

Revision of Volo completed

31 Mar 2009

Shortly Volo for string orchestra will be published by Edition Suecia. Before the publication the work has gone through a thorough revision. The notation has been improved, some completing indications have been added and some passages have been reworked for practical reasons or to create better transitions. The revision is based on experiences during rehearsals and concert performances of the work. Moreover, especially the transitions have been overlooked in order to work out certain original compositional ideas in a more full-bodied way.

New work for orchestra arouses interest in Germany

11 Mar 2009

A new work for large orchestra by Jörgen Dafgård titled Ad Astra was completed in a first version at the beginning of January. The six minutes long raw version was sent in to a composition competition preceding Pyromusikale, a large festival with music accompanying fireworks at Tempelhof Airport in Berlin on 9-11 July. According to the jury's chairman Achim Schwarze a large number of highly qualified contributions from all around the world had been sent in to the competition. In a letter to the composer he tells that Ad Astra has reached a good place in the competition, sends an invitation and free tickets to the festival and hopes that the composer will participate in the next competition. Even if Ad Astra wasn't among the three winning contributions, Dafgård is satisfied with the result, especially when keeping in mind that, since January, a lot of details in the instrumentation and dynamics of the piece has been added. Ad Astra can be seen as an offshoot of the larger work Through Fire and Water, which is commissioned by the Malmö Symphony Orchestra. More about the latter shortly.

New bagatelle for piano premiered

20 Nov 2008

During the publisher Gehrmans' Autumn Concert on 19 November at Forum in Stockholm, the pianist Niklas Sivelöv premiered Jörgen Dafgård's newly written Bagatell for piano. The short piece was part of a longer joint composition to which many of Gehrmans' composers had contributed. As usual the Autumn Concert was followed by a party where many well-known profiles from the Swedish music scene were present. At the same event in 2008 the conductor Aders Eby led the Mikaeli Chamber Choir in Jörgen Dafgård's My Garden - Like the Beach.

Inspirational meeting with the Nordic Chamber Ensamble

28 Oct 2008

On October the 28th Jörgen Dafgård met the Nordic Chamber Ensemble to discuss the new commission. Starting from music examples played by the composer and the ensemble, the discussion concerned form, expression and practical conditions. The new work will be around twenty minutes long and have its first performance in 2010.

Veils with Oramo and the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra

15 Sep 2008

Reviews (in Swedish) from the performances of Jörgen Dafgård's Veils by the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra under the direction of Sakari Oramo in May can now be found among the concert reviews under the heading Press. Veils was throughout very well received by press and audience alike. Musicians, conductors, composers and others expressed themselves very enthusiastically about the work after the concerts.

<< Previous ... 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next >>

Powered by CuteNews