JÖRGEN DAFGÅRD is a Sweden-based full time professional composer. Having just finished his diploma studies Dafgård made a striking debut in 2000 with his orchestral work Veils. As first prize winner at the Stockholm Berwald Hall and top ten contribution in the international Masterprize competition Veils has been performed a dozen times and has been heard on radio all around the world. In 2013 Jörgen Dafgård was Composer of Spring at the Berwald Hall, where many of his orchestral works were performed, including a premiere of the clarinet concerto Caprism. In 2017 the premiere of Dafgård's Concerto for Soprano Saxophone and Orchestra with Anders Paulsson was a great success.



Concerto for violin and string orchestra
Soloist: Hugo Ticciati
Duration: 20-25 minutes
Premiere: March 2018
Co-commissioned by Camerata Nordica and O/Modernt Chamber Orchestra


Eva Sidén to play Transcendens in Malmö
15 October 2017

The pianist and composer Eva Sidén will perform Jörgen Dafgård's piano piece Transcendens at a concert with Swedish and French music in Malmö on October 27. Eva Sidén will also play three of her own works as well as works by Gilbert Amy and Tristan Murail. The concert will take place in the Red Room at the Inter Arts Center at 7:15 pm and is the second concert in a three day festival celebrating the ten year anniversary of the association C-Y ContemporarY.

Erik Ring to perform For the Sleeping in Stockholm and Växjö
15 October 2017

Jörgen Dafgårds For the Sleeping - Dream Sonatawill be performed at two concerts where Erik Ring plays music for viola and electronics. The first concert takes place at Fylkingen in Stockholm on October 22 at 7:00 pm and the second is in Växjö, at Växjö Konsthall on November 12 at 4:00 pm. On the programme also music by Karlheinz Essi, Ned McGowan and Marsel Nichan. Erik Ring has performed For the Sleeping many times, most recently in Uppsala on May 17 this year.

Duo Gelland to premiere Dafgård's newly written Four Character Pieces in the USA
12 October 2017

A collaboration between the internationally acclaimed Duo Gelland and Jörgen Dafgård has become reality thanks to a grant from Helge Ax:son Johnsons Stiftelse. During late summer the new work Four Character Pieces has taken shape, which will shortly have its premiere in the USA. The work has a total duration of about eight minutes and the included duets have the character indications Impetuoso, Dolce espressivo, Giocoso and Rustico e fantastico. Duo Gelland will premiere Four Character Pieces on October 19 at the American Swedish Institute in Minneapolis, where the duo will give a walking concert in an exhibition with photorealistic paintings by Karin Broos.